Tamar Kordzaia is a New Chairperson for the Inter-Factional Group of Parliament of Georgia

News 9 November 2015

On October 29th, 2015, Tamar Kordzaia became a new Chairperson for the Inter-Factional Group of the Parliament of Georgia.

Inter-Factional Group was established by the decree of the Chairman of the Parliament signed on February 12th, 2015; while a change was made by the decree issued on October 29th, 2015. The Inter-Factional Group consists of 11 MPs, among them are representatives of majority and minority: Tamar Kordzaia, Guguli Maghradze, Malkhaz Vakhtangashvili, Giorgi Kakhiani, Giga Bukia, Nino Goguadze, Khatuna Gogorishvili, Vakhtangi Lemojava, Davit Chavchanidze, Gocha Enukidze and Kakhaber Okriashvili.

Tinatin Khidasheli was the first Chairperson of the group. However, since she became the Minister of Defense of Georgia, MP Guguli Maghradze served as a Chairperson of the Editorial Group.

Editorial Group, along with the Open Parliament working group consisting of representatives from the International and non-governmental organizations, was primarily responsible for developing an Open Parliament Georgia Action Plan 2015-2016. The action plan was adopted by the Bureau of the Parliament on July 17th, 2015.

Open Parliament Georgia Action Plan 2015-2016 was elaborated within the scopes of the project "Supporting Involvement of Parliament of Georgia in Open Government Partnership Initiative", on which IDFI has been working since 20 14 with the support of UNDP and EU. The Action Plan includes 18 commitments focused on civic engagement, access on information, accountability, and technologies and innovations.

It should be mentioned that on October 27th, Inter-Factional Group was awarded with the OGP Government Champions Award at the Open Government Partnership Civil Society Day in Mexico City, Mexico, that was held within the OGP Global Summit 2015.

The Award was intended to showcase the ideal co-creation dynamic between the government and civil society while elaborating the National Action Plan; to provide a high-level political visibility to the key actors who have played an immense role in upholding the OGP commitments and award the team that shared responsibility, authority and co-created the Action Plan, successfully managed safeguarding the voice of civil society actors in the National Action Plan development process and embraced the recommendations from civil society regardless political sensitivity of initiatives and difficulty for the government.

Other Publications on This Issue